complete Graduated Driver License Law in Minnesota including changes in 2014, is as follows:
Stage 1- Instruction Permit
- Must be at least 15; Must complete 30 hours
of classroom education and be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction
- Must pass
the knowledge test, have parent or legal guardian approval; and
- While unlicensed,
must not have had a crash-related moving violation or an alcohol/controlled substance-related violation (a violation
of one or more statutes, including DWI, Implied Consent, Open Bottle, or Underage Drinking and Driving/Not a Drop
- Permit holder may drive under the supervision of a parent, guardian or other licensed driver 21 or older
occupying the seat beside them.
- The driver and all passengers under 18 must wear their seat
belts/child safety restraints.
- May not operate a vehicle while using a cellular or wireless
telephone, whether handheld or hands-free, while vehicle is in operation.
Stage 2 – To Obtain a Provisional License
- Must be at least 16 and have completed six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction;
- Must have held a permit for six months, with no convictions for moving violations or alcohol/controlled substance-related
violations (a violation of one or more statutes, including DWI, Implied Consent, Open Bottle, or Underage Drinking and
Driving/Not a Drop Law)
- Must have at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including
15 hours of night driving, verified by parent/guardian with logs to prove the supervision; Parent/supervised driver 21
years of age or older needs
to attend a parent 90 minute educational meeting as part of the Driver Education program or have an additional 10 hours
of supervised driving.
- Must pass the road test.
While driving with a Provisional License
- The driver and all passengers under 18 must wear their seat belt/child safety restraint.
- May not operate a vehicle while using a cellular or wireless telephone, whether handheld or
hands-free, while vehicle is in operation which includes no texting.
- The first 6 months
of driving, no more than one person under the age of 20 can be in the vehicle except for immediate family members.
After 6 months that number increases to 3. Additionally, the provisional license holder has restrictions placed
upon driving between the hours of midnight and 5:00am for the first 6 months.
Stage 3 - Full License
- Must be at least 18 or
- Must have held a provisional license for one year with no convictions
for crash-related moving violations, no alcohol/controlled substance-related violations (a violation of one or more
statutes, including DWI, Implied Consent, Open Bottle, or Underage Drinking and Driving/Not a Drop Law) and no more than
one non-crash-related moving violation; and
- Parent/guardian must attest to
at least 10 additional hours of supervised driving.
For the Instructional Permit
holder, a conviction for using a cell phone or texting extends for six months from the date of the conviction the ability
to test for a provisional license. For a Provisional License holder, if the incident was crash related or the driver has a
previous moving violation, it extends the ability to apply for an “under 21 year license, or a full license” for
one year or until they are 18. Since a ticket will be given, a fine up to $100 can be received for this violation.
New Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Law
The 2014 Minnesota Legislature
passed a new graduated driver licensing law. The new law requires:
• Students under the age
of 18 to submit a supervised driving log to the driver exam staff, at the time of the road test for the provisional driver’s
• All driver education programs to offer a 90 minute class for parents of
teens obtaining their instruction permits and provisional driver’s licenses.
are Frequently Asked Questions regarding the new law:
Q: When does this law take effect?
A: January 1, 2015.
Q: Will students who
are completing their behind the wheel instruction in 2014 be required to submit the supervised driving log?
No. Students who complete all of their behind the wheel instruction in 2014 will not be required to submit the supervised
driving log. Students who complete their final hour of behind the wheel instruction on or after January 1, 2015, will be required
to submit the supervised driving log. The driver exam staff will look at the date of behind the wheel completion on the certificate
of completion to determine if a supervised driving log is required.
Q: How many driving
hours are students required to verify on the supervised driving log?
A: 50 hours
of supervised driving time are required, 15 of which must be nighttime hours. Or if a parent/guardian completes the parent
class, and submits a certificate of completion to the driver exam staff at the time of the road test, or if it was submitted
when applying for an instruction permit, 40 hours of supervised driving time are required, 15 of which must be nighttime hours.
Q: Will students who are applying for a farm work license be required to submit the driving log
showing 50 or 40 hours of driving time?
A: Yes. There were no provisions in the new
law that excluded students applying for farm work licenses.
Q: Where may I find
a supervised driving log to complete for my student?
A: The supervised driving log has been sent to all driver education programs, and the programs are encouraged
to provide all of their students with the log. The supervised driving log is also available on the Driver and Vehicle Services
website at: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/forms-documents/Documents/SupervisedDrivingLog.pdf
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES
445 Minnesota St., Saint Paul, MN 55101
Phone: (651) 296-6911 TTY:
Fax: (651) 797-1120
If you have any questions or concerns at all please do
not hesitate to contact me at 507-269-5312 or you can e-mail me at Todd@driverstraining101.com.